Participating Faculty Members

The participating faculty are drawn from the Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Physics, Biomedical Sciences, and reflect a wide diversity of research interests and expertise. Brief descriptions of the research areas represented by individual faculty members are summarized below.

Chemistry and Biochemistry

 
Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Rommie Amaro

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Amaro Research Group
ramaro@ucsd.edu
Computational Chemistry and Biophysics

Itay Budin

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Budin Research Group
ibudin@ucsd.edu
Biochemistry and synthetic biology of cell membranes

Galia Debelouchina

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Debelouchina Lab
gdebelouchina@ucsd.edu
Chemical and spectroscopic approaches for structural biology of complex biological systems

Lalit Deshmukh

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Deshmukh Research Group
ldeshmukh@ucsd.edu
Solution NMR spectroscopy, retroviruses, protein and nucleic acid biochemistry

Neal Devaraj

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Devaraj Research Group
ndevaraj@ucsd.edu
Tetrazine Cycloadditions for bioorthogonal chemistry and functional materials. Imaging and in vivo chemistry

Fleur Gerguson

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
flferguson@ucsd.edu
Targeted protein degradation, oncology, neurodegeneration

Kamil Godula

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Godula Group
kgodula@ucsd.edu
Nanotechnologies for analysis of glycan function during development. Glycomaterials for stem cell-based tissue regeneration

Mark Herzik

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Herzik Research Group
mherzik@ucsd.edu
Elucidating the mechanisms of macromolecular transport into and within mitochondria

Simpson Joseph

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Joseph Lab
sjoseph@ucsd.edu
Biochemistry & Biophysics: ribosome structure, function and dynamics; discovery of novel antibiotics

Elizabeth A. Komives

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Komives Lab
ekomives@ucsd.edu
Structure, function, dynamics and thermodynamics of protein-protein interactions: NMR, mass spectrometry and kinetics

Alexis Komor

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Komor Lab
akomor@ucsd.edu
DNA damage and repair; Genome editing; Chemical biology of aging

Colleen McHugh

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The McHugh Research Group
c1mchugh@ucsd.edu
RNA-protein interactions; Assembly of RNPs; Structural biology of multimeric complexes

Johannes Schoeneberg

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
jschoeneberg@ucsd.edu
Cellular organelle dynamics by lattice light sheet microscopy

Susan Taylor

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Professor of Pharmacology
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Susan S. Taylor Lab
staylor@ucsd.edu
Structure, Function, Dynamics, and Localization of PKA as a Prototype for the Protein Kinase Superfamily.

Akif Tezcan

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tezcan Lab
tezcan@ucsd.edu
Bioinorganic and biophysical chemistry; Metalloprotein structure, function and biosynthesis; Biomaterials

Navtej Toor

Assoc. Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
ntoor@ucsd.edu
Structure and Function of Introns and Retroelements

Wei Wang

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Wei Wang Research Group
wew002@ucsd.edu
Inference of gene regulatory networks and determination of protein specificity

Brian Zid

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Zid Research Group
zid@ucsd.edu
Dynamics of mRNA localization in the control of gene expression.

Biomedical Sciences

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Geoffrey Chang

Professor of Pharmacy
g1chang@ucsd.edu
Structural biology of transporters

Kevin Corbett

Associate Professor, Cell and Molecular Medicine; Head of Laboratory of Structural Biology at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
Structural Biology Lab
kcorbett@ucsd.edu
We use biochemical and macromolecular structure tools to understand the organization of meiotic chromosomes, the regulation of meiotic DNA recombination to create crossovers, and the checkpoint mechanisms that monitor these events.

Michael Gilson

Professor, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science; Chair in Computer-Aided Drug Design, Co-Director UCSD Center for Drug Discovery Innovation
Gilson Lab
mgilson@ucsd.edu
Computer-aided molecular design, physical chemistry of molecular recognition, drug discovery, host-guest chemistry, cheminformatics, simulations and molecular modeling.

Tracy Handel

Professor of Pharmacy
thandel@ucsd.edu
Chemokines, G Protein-Coupled Receptors (GPCRs), glycosaminoglycans, cancer, structural biology, biophysics

Andres Leschziner

Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
The Leschziner Lab
aleschziner@ucsd.edu
Chromatin dynamics and intracellular transport: Movement of cytoplasmic dynein and mechanism of ATP-dependent nucleosome remodeling.

Samara Reck-Peterson

Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
The Reck-Peterson Lab
sreckpeterson@ucsd.edu

Determining the mechanisms underlying intracellular transport.

Roger Sunahara

Professor of Pharmacology
rsunahara@ucsd.edu
Mechanism of cell signaling in the G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) field.

Dong Wang

Associate Professor
Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Wang Lab
dongwang@ucsd.edu
Molecular Mechanisms of DNA Damage Processing Pathways

Jin Zhang

Professor of Pharmacology
jiz175@ucsd.edu

Spatiotemporal regulation of signal transduction

Physics

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Elena Koslover

Assistant Professor of Physics
The Koslover Research Lab
ekoslover@ucsd.edu
Structural Cell Biology, Cryo-Electron Microscopy, Multiscale modeling

Douglas Smith

Professor of Physics
des0free@gmail.com
Mechanical manipulation and imaging of single DNA molecules; Viral DNA packaging in bacteriophages phi29, lambda, and T4; Function of ATP-dependent molecular motors; Single polymer dynamics (polymer physics, DNA properties, rheology); Chromatin assembly and structure; Enzyme mediated DNA looping; Restriction endonuclease function; Physics of knot formation

Biology

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Elizabeth Villa

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Villa Lab
evilla@ucsd.edu
Structural Cell Biology, Cryo-Electron Microscopy, Multiscale modeling