Participating Faculty Members

The participating faculty are drawn from the Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Physics, Biomedical Sciences, and reflect a wide diversity of research interests and expertise. Brief descriptions of the research areas represented by individual faculty members are summarized below.

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Rommie Amaro

Assoc. Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Amaro Research Group
ramaro@ucsd.edu
Computational Chemistry and Biophysics

Itay Budin

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Budin Research Group
ibudin@ucsd.edu
Biochemistry and synthetic biology of cell membranes

Michael Burkart

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Burkart Lab
mburkart@ucsd.edu
Natural product synthesis/biosynthesis, Biological chemistry and enzymology, Metabolic engineering.

Galia Debelouchina

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Debelouchina Lab
gdebelouchina@ucsd.edu
Chemical and spectroscopic approaches for structural biology of complex biological systems

Lalit Deshmukh

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Lalit Lab

ldeshmukh@ucsd.edu

Solution NMR spectroscopy, retroviruses, protein and nucleic acid biochemistry

Neal Devaraj

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Devaraj Research Group
ndevaraj@ucsd.edu
Tetrazine Cycloadditions for bioorthogonal chemistry and functional materials. Imaging and in vivo chemistry

Gourisankar Ghosh

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
gghosh@ucsd.edu
Biochemistry and biophysics: transcription, signaling, pre-mRNA splicing, mRNA transport, protein-protein, protein-DNA and protein-RNA interactions.

Partho Ghosh

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Partho Ghosh Research Group
pghosh@ucsd.edu
Mechanisms of bacterial and protozoan pathogenesis, and host response against infectious microbes.

Kamil Godula

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Godula Group
kgodula@ucsd.edu
Nanotechnologies for analysis of glycan function during development. Glycomaterials for stem cell-based tissue regeneration

Thomas Hermann

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Hermann Lab
tch@ucsd.edu
RNA as a Drug Target.

Mark Herzik

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Herzik Group
mherzik@ucsd.edu

Elucidating the mechanisms of macromolecular transport into and within mitochondria

Patricia A. Jennings

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Bruno Zimm Scholar
Jennings Lab
pajennings@ucsd.edu
Biophysical chemistry: protein structure, dynamics and folding; 2, 3 and 4D NMR spectroscopy; PCR; equilibrium and kinetic-fluorescence, absorbance and circular dichroism spectroscopies.

Simpson Joseph

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Joseph Lab
sjoseph@ucsd.edu
Biochemistry & Biophysics: ribosome structure, function and dynamics; discovery of novel antibiotics

Elizabeth A. Komives

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Komives Lab
ekomives@ucsd.edu
Structure, function, dynamics and thermodynamics of protein-protein interactions: NMR, mass spectrometry and kinetics

Alexis Komor

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
The Komor Lab
akomor@ucsd.edu
DNA damage and repair; Genome editing; Chemical biology of aging

Colleen McHugh

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
McHugh Lab
c1mchugh@ucsd.edu

RNA-protein interactions; Assembly of RNPs; Structural biology of multimeric complexes

Ulrich Muller

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
ufmuller@ucsd.edu
Biochemistry: Evolution of catalytic RNAs, the Origin of Life

Susan Taylor

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Professor of Pharmacology
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Susan S. Taylor Lab
staylor@ucsd.edu
Structure, Function, Dynamics, and Localization of PKA as a Prototype for the Protein Kinase Superfamily.

Akif Tezcan

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Tezcan Lab
tezcan@ucsd.edu
Bioinorganic and biophysical chemistry; Metalloprotein structure, function and biosynthesis; Biomaterials

Navtej Toor

Assoc. Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
ntoor@ucsd.edu
Structure and Function of Introns and Retroelements

Wei Wang

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Wei Wang Research Group
wew002@ucsd.edu
Inference of gene regulatory networks and determination of protein specificity

Biomedical Sciences

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Geoffrey Chang

Professor of Pharmacy
g1chang@ucsd.edu
Structural biology of transporters

Kevin Corbett

Assistant Professor, Cell and Molecular Medicine; Head of Laboratory of Structural Biology at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
Structural Biology Lab
kcorbett@ucsd.edu
We use biochemical and macromolecular structure tools to understand the organization of meiotic chromosomes, the regulation of meiotic DNA recombination to create crossovers, and the checkpoint mechanisms that monitor these events.

Michael Gilson

Professor, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science; Chair in Computer-Aided Drug Design, Co-Director UCSD Center for Drug Discovery Innovation
Gilson Lab
mgilson@ucsd.edu
Computer-aided molecular design, physical chemistry of molecular recognition, drug discovery, host-guest chemistry, cheminformatics, simulations and molecular modeling.

Tracy Handel

Professor of Pharmacy
thandel@ucsd.edu
Chemokines, G Protein-Coupled Receptors (GPCRs), glycosaminoglycans, cancer, structural biology, biophysics

Andres Leschziner

Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
The Leschziner Lab
aleschziner@ucsd.edu
Chromatin dynamics and intracellular transport: Movement of cytoplasmic dynein and mechanism of ATP-dependent nucleosome remodeling.

Samara Reck-Peterson

Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
The Reck-Peterson Lab
sreckpeterson@ucsd.edu

Determining the mechanisms underlying intracellular transport.

Roger Sunahara

Professor of Pharmacology
rsunahara@ucsd.edu
Mechanism of cell signaling in the G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) field.

Dong Wang

Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Wang Lab
dongwang@ucsd.edu
Molecular Mechanisms of DNA Damage Processing Pathways

Jin Zhang

Professor of Pharmacology
jiz175@ucsd.edu

Spatiotemporal regulation of signal transduction

Physics

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Douglas Smith

Associate Professor of Physics
des0free@gmail.com
Mechanical manipulation and imaging of single DNA molecules; Viral DNA packaging in bacteriophages phi29, lambda, and T4; Function of ATP-dependent molecular motors; Single polymer dynamics (polymer physics, DNA properties, rheology); Chromatin assembly and structure; Enzyme mediated DNA looping; Restriction endonuclease function; Physics of knot formation

Biology

Name/Contact Info Research Topics

Elizabeth Villa

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Villa Lab
evilla@ucsd.edu
Structural Cell Biology, Cryo-Electron Microscopy, Multiscale modeling